Best retreat booking platforms, compared
Six platforms hosts weigh when deciding where to list: Finding Retreats, BookYogaRetreats, BookRetreats, Retreat Guru, The Good Index and RetreatFinder. Commission, payout, dashboard tooling and what each one is actually best for — not just the cheapest rate.
Commission, payout and reach
Tagged by whether the platform is primarily a discovery marketplace, operational software, or both — see how to choose below for what that distinction means in practice.
| Platform | Finding Retreats Marketplace + software | BookYogaRetreats (Tripaneer) Marketplace | BookRetreats Marketplace | Retreat Guru Marketplace + software | The Good Index Marketplace | RetreatFinder Marketplace |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commission | 10% flat | 15–20%, set per host | 15% floor + processing fee (opt-in 20–30%) | 14% flat, billed monthly | 10% flat (free Starter, or $49/mo Growth — still 10%) | Flat annual fee, no commission — exact figure not public |
| Payout timing | Day after retreat starts | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed |
| Audience reach | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed |
Commission and payout figures for BookYogaRetreats, BookRetreats and Retreat Guru mirror the sourced figures on our commission comparison. Audience reach isn't publicly disclosed by any platform listed here, including ours.
Dashboard features
Most competing platforms are a public listing plus marketing — useful, but not much beyond that on the backend. This is what each one gives a host to actually run the business day to day.
| Feature | Finding Retreats | BookYogaRetreats (Tripaneer) | BookRetreats | Retreat Guru | The Good Index | RetreatFinder |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Two-way iCal sync Retreat Guru’s own help documentation confirms iCal sync with Google Calendar, iCalendar and Outlook. | Yes | Not publicly confirmed | Not publicly confirmed | Yes | Not publicly confirmed | Not publicly confirmed |
| Auto-generated social media posts | Yes | No | No | No | No | No |
| Built-in SEO fields per listing | Yes | No | No | No | No | No |
| Income & booking forecasting | Yes | No | No | No | No | No |
| Instant book or request-to-book toggle | Yes | Not publicly confirmed | Not publicly confirmed | Not publicly confirmed | Not publicly confirmed | Not publicly confirmed |
| In-dashboard guest messaging | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Multiple room/accommodation types per listing | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Team access for co-hosts/staff | Yes | No | No | No | No | No |
| No exclusivity or rate-parity requirement | Yes | Not publicly confirmed | Not publicly confirmed | Not publicly confirmed | Not publicly confirmed | Not publicly confirmed |
"Not publicly confirmed" means we found no public documentation either way, not that the feature is absent — we didn't get host-side access to any competitor's dashboard to check directly. See how team access for co-hosts/staff works on Finding Retreats.
Each platform, briefly
Finding Retreats
Functions as both a discovery marketplace and the operating software behind the listing: 10% flat commission, published payout timing, plus iCal sync, auto-generated social posts, forecasting and guest messaging in one dashboard. Best for a host who wants one tool covering both distribution and day-to-day operations.
BookYogaRetreats (Tripaneer)
One of the largest, most established retreat marketplaces, with strong guest trust and review volume. Commission is set per host rather than published, and a number of Trustpilot reviews from guests describe confusion between the deposit and the commission taken, along with slow or refused refunds on cancellation — guest-side sentiment worth knowing before you rely on it for payout clarity.
BookRetreats
Established marketplace with a 15% commission floor plus a payment processing fee, and an opt-in tier of 20–30% for better search placement. Best for a host prioritizing reach on a well-known marketplace and comfortable with a variable, negotiable rate.
Retreat Guru
Describes itself as marketplace-plus-software, and backs that up with confirmed iCal sync in its own help docs. Commission is 14% flat, billed monthly to the host’s card rather than deducted from payouts — worth factoring into cash flow planning.
The Good Index
Smaller, curated and reviewed marketplace at a flat 10% commission. A free Starter plan covers a basic listing; a $49/month Growth plan adds visibility, but the commission stays 10% either way — no pay-to-rank tier.
RetreatFinder
Guests browse "Programs" by category and destination rather than a plain venue directory. Charges a flat annual fee instead of any commission, but the exact figure isn’t published — pricing is set through a "tell us what you offer" intake form, so budget for an unknown until you ask them directly.
How to choose
Retreat and vacation-rental hosting guides generally frame this as discovery versus control: a marketplace trades commission for exposure and built-in guest trust, while owned booking software keeps more revenue but needs you to bring your own traffic. Several of those guides recommend using both rather than picking one — which matches what most retreat hosts already do.
Marketplace vs booking software, explainedQuestions hosts ask
Ready to see where you fit?
See the full host offer, dig into commission specifics, or import your existing listing and add Finding Retreats alongside what you already use.